Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

I Want That Nut!

ebook
A nutty and clever buddy story that celebrates cooperation, perfect for fans of Duck and Goose.

Meet Mouse and Chipmunk, two young rodents who want the same thing—a big, beautiful nut! But who deserves it more? After all, Chipmunk and the Nut read together and lie in the grass and stare at the clouds. Chipmunk wants that nut! And Mouse and the Nut play tic-tac-toe and have a dance party together. Mouse also wants that nut!

But then Squirrel comes along and claims the Nut for his own. What's a rodent to do?
"A winning combination of words and pictures for beginning readers and listeners."—Kirkus, Starred review
"While giggling over Mouse and Chipmunk's antics, readers will easily relate to the way they vacillate between selfishness and selflessness, and Valentine's watercolor forest, awash in browns and greens, is an inviting place to learn about sharing and friendship. Who knew inanimate friends could be so rewarding?"—Publishers Weekly, Starred review
"Streamlined text in short big-print sentences with dialogue in speech balloons is friendly to beginning readers as well as readers-aloud, and the flights of fancy into each critter's friendship with the nut are highly giggleworthy."—The Bulletin
"Expertly drawn and designed to keep the action moving as tails fly off the page. This book quietly introduces the topics of sharing and friendship by example, echoing the voice of young children."—School Library Journal

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: October 3, 2017

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781101940396
  • File size: 6 KB
  • Release date: October 3, 2017

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
Kindle restrictions

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:1.7
Lexile® Measure:400
Interest Level:K-3(LG)
Text Difficulty:0-2

A nutty and clever buddy story that celebrates cooperation, perfect for fans of Duck and Goose.

Meet Mouse and Chipmunk, two young rodents who want the same thing—a big, beautiful nut! But who deserves it more? After all, Chipmunk and the Nut read together and lie in the grass and stare at the clouds. Chipmunk wants that nut! And Mouse and the Nut play tic-tac-toe and have a dance party together. Mouse also wants that nut!

But then Squirrel comes along and claims the Nut for his own. What's a rodent to do?
"A winning combination of words and pictures for beginning readers and listeners."—Kirkus, Starred review
"While giggling over Mouse and Chipmunk's antics, readers will easily relate to the way they vacillate between selfishness and selflessness, and Valentine's watercolor forest, awash in browns and greens, is an inviting place to learn about sharing and friendship. Who knew inanimate friends could be so rewarding?"—Publishers Weekly, Starred review
"Streamlined text in short big-print sentences with dialogue in speech balloons is friendly to beginning readers as well as readers-aloud, and the flights of fancy into each critter's friendship with the nut are highly giggleworthy."—The Bulletin
"Expertly drawn and designed to keep the action moving as tails fly off the page. This book quietly introduces the topics of sharing and friendship by example, echoing the voice of young children."—School Library Journal

Expand title description text